

# MINUTES OF THE STATUTORY MEETING OF THE HINCHINBROOK SHIRE COUNCIL

# HELD IN THE COUNCIL CHAMBERS, INGHAM ON THURSDAY 17<sup>TH</sup> MAY, 2012 AT 3.08 P.M.

# **ATTENDANCE**

- Present were Councillors R. Bow, P.D. Lynch, L.R. Molachino, S.J. Kaurila, W.G. Skinner, D.G. Carr, and M.G. Tack.
- Also present was the Chief Executive Officer (R.W. Clark), Finance Manager (C.J. Trost), Accountant (F. Robertson), Manager Corporate & Economic Development (R.F. Pennisi), Manager Environmental Health Services (T. Tanase), Human Resources Manager (G. Clayton), Executive Secretary (B.K. Edwards), Administration Officer (C.A. Fulton).

## 1. <u>DECLARATION OF OFFICE</u>

The Mayor and each Member made a Declaration of Office in the prescribed form and before the Chief Executive Officer.

# 2. RETURNING OFFICER'S DECLARATION OF POLL

The Returning Officer, Gary Joseph Biddulph, submitted a Notice of Result of Election for Mayor and Councillors and informing the due election of the following persons:-

#### **MAYOR**

3411

COUNCILLORS	
David Geoffrey CARR Wallis George SKINNER Patrick David LYNCH Lawrence Raymond MOLACHINO Sherry Jean KAURILA Marc Gerard TACK	3950 3797 3450 2816 2714 2547

<u>Resolved</u> – That the Declaration be received and noted. (Crs. Lynch and Molachino – Carried)

Mansell Rodger BOW

#### 3. APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY MAYOR

Nomination of Cr. Patrick Lynch

- Nominated by Cr. Lawrence Molachino, Seconded Cr. Sherry Kaurila

Resolved – That Cr. Patrick Lynch be appointed Deputy Mayor. *Carried* 

#### 4. APPOINTMENT OF PORTFOLIOS AND APPOINTMENT OF CHAIR / MEMBERS

#### (a) CORPORATE SERVICES

Consideration was given to the composition of the Corporate Services Portfolio.

Nomination of Cr. Marc Tack and Cr. Patrick Lynch

- Nominated by Cr. Lawrence Molachino, Seconded Cr. Sherry Kaurila

 $\underline{\text{Resolved}}$  — That the Corporate Services Portfolio representatives be Cr. Marc Tack and Cr. Patrick Lynch.

Carried

#### (b) <u>COMMUNITY SERVICES</u>

Consideration was given to the composition of the Community Services Portfolio.

Nomination of Cr. Sherry Kaurila

- Nominated by Cr. Marc Tack, Seconded Cr. David Carr

Nomination of Cr. Lawrence Molachino

- Nominated by Cr. Patrick Lynch, Seconded by Cr. David Carr

<u>Resolved</u> – That the Community Services Portfolio representatives be Cr. Kaurila and Cr. Molachino.

Carried

#### (c) <u>ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT</u>

Consideration was given to the composition of the Economic Development Portfolio.

Nomination of Cr. Lawrence Molachino

- Nominated by Cr. David Carr, Seconded Cr. Wally Skinner

Nomination of Cr. Marc Tack

- Nominated by Cr. Patrick Lynch, Seconded Cr. Sherry Kaurila

<u>Resolved</u> – That the Economic Development Portfolio representatives be Cr. Lawrence Molachino and Cr. Marc Tack.

Carried

#### (d) ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH SERVICES

Consideration was given to the composition of the Environmental Health Services Portfolio.

Nomination of Cr. Sherry Kaurila

- Nominated by Cr. David Carr, Seconded Cr. Lawrence Molachino

Nomination of Cr. Wally Skinner

- Nominated by Cr. Patrick Lynch, Seconded Cr. Sherry Kaurila

<u>Resolved</u> – That the Environmental Health Services Portfolio representatives be Cr. Sherry Kaurila and Cr. Wally Skinner. Carried

# (e) <u>ENGINEERING SERVICES</u>

Consideration was given to the composition of the Engineering Services Portfolio.

Nomination of Cr. David Carr

- Nominated by Cr. Lawrence Molachino, Seconded Cr. Patrick Lynch

Nomination of Cr. Wally Skinner

– Nominated Cr. Marc Tack, Seconded Cr. Sherry Kaurila

<u>Resolved</u> – That the Engineering Services Portfolio representatives be Cr. David Carr and Cr. Wally Skinner. *Carried* 

(f) That the following Councillors represent Council on the respective Organisations / Committees:-

Organisation / Committee – Cr. Patrick Lynch
Emergency Management Qld (EMQ) (Deputy)
Far North Qld Regional Organisation of Councils (FNQROC)
HR Pastoral & Agricultural Association (Show)
Hinchinbrook Signage Committee
Ingham Health Consumer Group
Tyto Wetlands Steering Committee
Tropical Coast Tourism (TCT)
Organisation / Committee – Cr. David Carr
Public Open Space Review Team (2 members)
NDRRA Project Leadership Team Member (observer)
Hinchinbrook Local Marine Advisory Committee (HLMAC)
Tyto Wetlands Steering Committee
Lucinda Progress Association
Taylors Beach Progress Association
Organisation / Committee – Cr. Wally Skinner
Terrain NRM
Pest Management - FNQPAF
Local Pest Management Group
Integrated Catchment Coordinating Committee (ICM)
Public Open Space Review Team (2 members)
NDRRA Project Leadership Team Member (observer)
Trebonne Action Group (TAG)
0

 $\underline{\text{Resolved}}$  — That the Council be represented on the respective Organisations / Committees as per the above Table.

(Crs. Patrick Lynch and Lawrence Molachino – Carried)

#### 5. APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO HERBERT RIVER IMPROVEMENT TRUST

Nomination of Cr. David Carr and Cr. Wally Skinner

- Nominated by Cr. Sherry Kaurila, Seconded Cr. Marc Tack

 $\underline{\text{Resolved}} - \text{That Cr. David Carr and Cr. Wally Skinner be appointed to be members of the Herbert River Improvement Trust.}$ 

Carried

#### 6. APPOINTMENT OF MEMBER TO LOWER HERBERT WATER MANAGEMENT AUTHORITY

Nomination of Cr. David Carr

- Nominated by Cr. Wally Skinner, Seconded Cr. Lawrence Molachino

<u>Resolved</u> – That Cr. David Carr be appointed to be a member of the Lower Herbert Water Management Authority.

Carried

## 7. <u>APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS AND PROXY TO AUDIT COMMITTEE</u>

Nomination of Cr. Rodger Bow as Member

- Nominated by Cr. Patrick Lynch, Seconded Cr. Sherry Kaurila

Nomination of Cr. Sherry Kaurila as Member

- Nominated by Cr. Lawrence Molachino, Seconded Cr. David Carr

Nomination of Cr. Patrick Lynch and Cr. Marc Tack as Proxy

- Nominated by Cr. Lawrence Molachino, Seconded Cr. David Carr

<u>Resolved</u> – That Cr. Rodger Bow and Cr. Sherry Kaurila be appointed members of the Audit Committee and Cr. Patrick Lynch and Cr. Marc Tack as Proxy and all Councillors able to attend as observers.

Carried

#### 8. <u>DAY AND HOUR FOR GENERAL MEETINGS</u>

Resolved - That the Council next meet at 9.00 a.m. on Tuesday 22<sup>nd</sup> May, 2012 and thereafter in accordance with the schedule of meetings below:-

MONTH	General Meeting 9.00 am	General Meeting 9.00 am
MAY	-	Tues 22 <sup>nd</sup>
JUNE	Thurs 14 <sup>th</sup>	-
JULY	Tues 3 <sup>rd</sup>	Tues 24 <sup>th</sup>
AUGUST		Wed 15 <sup>th</sup>
SEPTEMBER	Wed 5 <sup>th</sup>	Wed 26 <sup>th</sup>
OCTOBER		Wed 17 <sup>th</sup>
NOVEMBER	Wed 7 <sup>th</sup>	Wed 28 <sup>th</sup>
DECEMBER	Wed 19 <sup>th</sup>	-

(Crs. Marc Tack and Wally Skinner – Carried)

MAYOR	
MAYOR	
MAYOR	